Creative Habit Project: Week 1

I started off my week by doing daily sketches of wolves to understand anatomy as well as get a handle on drawing them again. I drew from photos and video footage due to my lack of access to live specimen.

wolfsketch004   wolfsketch005wolfsketch006    wolfsketch007

 

I did a couple of studies of the skull, since I had a challenging time making an educated guess on the angle of the top of the head and brow ridge without proper anatomical knowledge. I plan to do more anatomical studies next week, starting with the skeletal structure, overlaying the musculature, then finally the surface of the wolf. I’ll probably use tracing paper and colored pencils to complete this. If not–I’ll go digital. That would be an extra challenge.

I, somewhere down the line, decided I would do one digital painting a week. I would limit my time on it to 2 hours. However, I feel like that’s not enough. So I may do two one hour paintings and one two hour painting each week. But for the first week, I’ve gotten to test the waters.

I used a total of 3 layers in my painting, two of which are showing. The background, a sketch, and a rough value study that I progressed to a finish stage. This was the initial sketch.Image

For the final I used a monochromatic value scale. I want to make sure I do a couple of black and white paintings to solidify my range of value before I move on to color. Maybe the short paintings for the weeks following will be monochromatic and the final will be in color.

Image

I have already definitely improved my digital painting skills as well as my anatomical understanding of the wolf. Allowing myself a limited time period for a painting is actually great. I would complete so many more digital paintings if I only allowed myself a certain amount of time. When the time is up–it’s finished. No exceptions. I would then have to post it. This is definitely key.

I can’t wait to get working on next week’s work! I contacted Ironwood Wolves and I will probably be setting up a time with one of their animal ambassadors the week after Thanksgiving. During the week of Thanksgiving, while I’m home, I’m going to try to get to the Akron Zoo to do some life drawing of the wolves in their facilities. Between photographing and drawing those two live sources, I will have plenty of material for the week following.

I’m off to get some sleep. I will also be posting more frequently next week! There’ll be some daily sketches spread out through the week.

Take Care!

-Katy

Leave a Reply

